Hearings on proposed Section 301 tariff list | KPMG | GLOBAL
close
Share with your friends

United States: Hearings on proposed Section 301 tariff list

Hearings on proposed Section 301 tariff list

The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) today announced that there will be public hearings on 24-25 July 2018 regarding proposed tariffs on approximately $16 billion worth of Chinese products.

1000

Related content

As noted in the USTR release, the proposed tariffs are part of the U.S. response to China’s “unfair trade practices related to technology transfer, intellectual property, and innovation” pursuant to Section 301 of the Trade Act of 1974. The USTR notes that of the tariffs authorized for $50 billion of Chinese products:

  • Tariffs on $34 billion are currently in effect.
  • Tariffs on the remaining $16 billion are the subject of the public hearing.

The USTR also released a list of witnesses [PDF 505 KB] scheduled to speak at the public hearings.

 

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich
Partner, Global Practice Leader
T: 312-665-1022
E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

Andy Siciliano
Partner, National Practice Leader
T: 631-425-6057
E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

Irina Vaysfeld
Principal
T: 212-872-2973
E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

Robert Waldrop
Principal
T: 212-954-8117
E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com

Christopher Young
Principal
T: 312-665-3229
E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

George Zaharatos
Principal
T: 404-222-3292
E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin
Principal, East Coast Leader
T: 267-256-2614
E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

Luis (Lou) Abad
Principal, WNT
T: 212-954-3094
E: labad@kpmg.com

Amie Ahanchian
Managing Director
T: 202-533-3247
E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

Gisele Belotto
Managing Director
T: 305-913-2779
E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

Andy Doornaert
Managing Director
T: 313-230-3080
E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

Jessica Libby
Managing Director
T: 612-305-5533
E: jlibby@kpmg.com

© 2018 KPMG LLP, a Delaware limited liability partnership and the U.S. member firm of the KPMG network of independent member firms affiliated with KPMG International Cooperative (“KPMG International”), a Swiss entity. All rights reserved.

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Request for proposal

 

Submit