EU: Report of trade barrier removals | KPMG | GLOBAL
close
Share with your friends

EU: Report of trade barrier removals in 2017

EU: Report of trade barrier removals in 2017

The European Commission today released an annual report on trade and investment barriers that reveals the EC has eliminated trade barriers faced by EU companies doing business abroad.

1000

Related content

According to an EC release, 45 trade obstacles were lifted fully or in part in 2017 (more than twice as many as in 2016). The barriers removed span across 13 key EU export and investment sectors including aircraft, automotive, ceramics, ICT and electronics, machinery, pharma, medical devices, textiles, leather, agri-food, steel, paper, and services. Overall, this brings the number of barriers eliminated to 88. Examples of some of the barriers that were removed include:

  • Recognition of safety standards used by the EU machinery industry in Brazil's new safety legislation
  • Elimination of administrative barriers for services in Argentina
  • Removal of restrictions on copper and aluminum scrap, and paper in Turkey
  • Removal of animal and plant health and hygiene barriers related to bovine exports from some EU Member States to China, Saudi Arabia and Taiwan
  • Elimination of certain restrictions on poultry exports from some EU Member States to Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates

Many examples are included in a fact sheet.

For more information on this topic or to learn more about KPMG’s Trade & Customs Services, contact:

Doug Zuvich

Partner, Global Practice Leader

T: 312-665-1022

E: dzuvich@kpmg.com

 

Andy Siciliano

Partner, National Practice Leader

T: 631-425-6057

E: asiciliano@kpmg.com

 

Irina Vaysfeld

Principal

T: 212-872-2973

E: ivaysfeld@kpmg.com

 

Robert Waldrop

Principal

T: 212-954-8117 

E: rwaldrop@kpmg.com

 

Christopher Young

Principal

T: 312-665-3229

E: christopheryoung@kpmg.com

 

George Zaharatos

Principal

T: 404-222-3292

E: gzaharatos@kpmg.com

John L. McLoughlin

Principal, East Coast Leader

T: 267-256-2614

E: jlmcloughlin@kpmg.com

 

Luis (Lou) Abad

Principal, WNT

T: 212-954-3094

E: labad@kpmg.com

 

Amie Ahanchian

Managing Director

T: 202-533-3247

E: aahanchian@kpmg.com

 

Gisele Belotto

Managing Director

T: 305-913-2779

E: gbelotto@kpmg.com

 

Andy Doornaert

Managing Director

T: 313-230-3080

E: adoornaert@kpmg.com

 

Jessica Libby

Managing Director

T: 612-305-5533

E: jlibby@kpmg.com 

The KPMG logo and name are trademarks of KPMG International. KPMG International is a Swiss cooperative that serves as a coordinating entity for a network of independent member firms. KPMG International provides no audit or other client services. Such services are provided solely by member firms in their respective geographic areas. KPMG International and its member firms are legally distinct and separate entities. They are not and nothing contained herein shall be construed to place these entities in the relationship of parents, subsidiaries, agents, partners, or joint venturers. No member firm has any authority (actual, apparent, implied or otherwise) to obligate or bind KPMG International or any member firm in any manner whatsoever. The information contained in herein is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavor to provide accurate and timely information, there can be no guarantee that such information is accurate as of the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. No one should act on such information without appropriate professional advice after a thorough examination of the particular situation. For more information, contact KPMG's Federal Tax Legislative and Regulatory Services Group at: + 1 202 533 4366, 1801 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006.

Connect with us

 

Request for proposal

 

Submit