Tweeting from the top

Tweeting from the top

Many of Australia’s business leaders still grapple with the question: should I be active on social media? Whether it be failing to understand the commercial benefits of the medium, a reluctance to be seen as self-promoting, or fear of the risks involved – there are barriers to overcome.

Related content

Australian corporate leaders operate in increasingly complex business environments, where every move is watched and the market is hungry for information. Social media has given these leaders a direct channel through which they can interact with their customers and stakeholders, while also creating important networks for themselves and their organisations.

Tweeting from the top – Australian business leaders paving the way on social, identifies the top 20 Australian business leaders who we believe lead the way with a social presence, acting as ambassadors for the brand they represent. It seeks to:

  • reveal how corporate and business leaders are using Twitter (and the potential for other social media platforms) to support the aims and purpose of their organisations
  • highlight some of the real benefits that Australian corporate leaders and their businesses are reaping from the effective use of social media
  • provide social media strategy and risk management advice so there is a support system to sit behind an executive's account to help mitigate risk.

KPMG’s top 20 Twitter power list

The most influential, tweeting Australian business leaders – leveraging social media to amplify their point of view.

  PERSON TWITTER HANDLE POSITION COMPANY
1 Andy Penn @andy_penn CEO Telstra
2 Jason Killens @jasonkillens CEO SA Ambulance
3 Holly Ransom @hollyransom CEO Emergent
4 Kon Karapanagiotidis @kon__k CEO Asylum Seeker Resource Centre
5 Mark Woodland @markwoodland CEO Myxplor
6 Brendon Gale @brendongale25 CEO Richmond Football Club (AFL)
7 Frank Quinlan @frankgquinlan CEO Mental Health Australia
8 Pip Marlow @pipms MD Microsoft Australia
9 Michael Ebeid @michaelebeid MD SBS
10 Andrew Fagan @fages1 CEO Adelaide Football Club (ALF)
11 Todd Greenberg @todd_greenberg CEO NRL
12 Michael Carr-Gregg @mcg58 MD The Young and Well Cooperative Research Centre
13 Mark Bouris @markbouris Chair Yellow Brick Road
14 Tony Pignata @tpignata9 CEO Sydney Football Club (A-League)
15 Martin Dougiamas @moodler CEO Moodle
16 Deidre Willmott @cci_ceo CEO Chamber of Commerce & Industry WA
17 Tim Costello @timcostello CEO World Vision Australia
18 Cassandra Goldie @cassandragoldie CEO ACOSS
19 Jan Owen @janowenam CEO Foundation for Young Australians
20 Julian Plummer @julian_plummer MD Midwinter

Social Media Intelligence

Social Media Intelligence

KPMG Social Media Intelligence supports clients with digital risk management, to capitalise on social media and manage their brand and reputation.

Risk culture and conduct

Risk culture and conduct

Key insight and debate highlighting how important it is for organisations to have a sound culture and risk strategy as a solid platform for growth.

Connect with us

 

Request for proposal

 

Submit

KPMG's new digital platform

KPMG's new digital platform